Communication Workers Union, North East Region
Instagram logo



The CWU carries out political work on our members’ behalf in line with the policy decided by our Conference and set out by our elected officers and executives.

Our political work spans a number of different issues. Within our core industries, the decisions that affect our members in the workplace are not simply made by the employer, but are also made by governments and regulators. So whether it is our People’s Post campaign, calling for investment in broadband or campaigning on the Post Office, we need to be active politically to defend our members’ interests at work.

More generally, as a trade union we provide a collective political voice to 190,000 working people on issues that are important to them. For instance, we want to see an end to the housing crisis and a new deal for workers to end low pay and insecure employment.

Alongside the work done by CWU Headquarters on all of these issues, we want to empower CWU members to have a political voice themselves, whether this is through political campaigning, by getting active in the union or the Labour Party, or by becoming an MP or a councillor.

MP details for constituencies covered by our region.

Constituency Name Email
Labour North    
Berwick upon Tweed Anne-Marie Trevelyan ©
Bishop Auckland Dehenna Davison ©
Blaydon Liz Twist (L)
Blyth Valley Ian Levy ©
City of Durham Mary Foy(L)
Darlington Peter Gibson ©
Easington Grahame Morris (L)
Gateshead Ian Mearns (L)
Hartlepool Mike Hill
Hexham Guy Opperman ©
Houghton and Sunderland South Bridget Phillipson (L)
Jarrow Kate Osborne (L)
Middlesbrough Andy McDonald (L)
Middlesbrough SE Cleveland Simon Clarke (C)
Newcastle Central Chi Onwurah
Newcastle upon Tyne East Nick Brown (L)
Newcastle upon Tyne North Catherine McKinnell (L) 
North Durham Kevan Jones (L)
North Tyneside Mary Glindon(L)
North West Durham Richard Holden ©
Redcar Jacob Young ©
Richmond Rishi Sunak ©
Sedgefield Paul Howell ©
South Shields Emma Lewell-Buck (L) 
Stockton North Alex Cunningham (L)
Stockton South Matt Vickers ©
Sunderland Central Julie Elliott(L)
Tynemouth Alan Campbell (L)
Wansbeck Ian Lavery (L)
Washington and Sunderland West Sharon Hodgson (L)
Yorkshire & Humber    
Constituency Name Email
Batley and Spen Tracey Brabin (L) 
Barnsley Central Dan Jarvis (L)
Barnsley East Stephanie Peacock (L) 
Beverley & Holderness Graham Stuart ©
Bradford East Imran Hussain (L)
Bradford South Judith Cummins (L) 
Bradford West Naz Shah (L)
Brigg & Goole  Andrew Percy ©
Calder Valley Craig Whittaker ©
Cleethorpes Martin Vickers ©
Colne Valley Jason McCartney ©
Dewsbury Mark Eastwood ©
Don Valley Nick Fletcher (C)
Doncaster Central Rosie Winterton (L)
Doncaster North Ed Milliband (L)
East Yorkshire  Greg Knight ©
Elmet & Rothwell Alec Shelbrooke ©
Halifax Holly Lynch (L)
Huddersfield Barry Sheerman (L)
Great Grimsby Lia Nici ©
Harrogate & Knaresborough Andrew Jones ©
Keighley Robbie Moore ©
Kingston upon Hull East Karl Turner (L)
Kingston upon Hull North Diana Johnson (L)
Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle Emma Hardy (L)
Hemsworth Jon Trickett (L)
Leeds Central Hilary Benn (L)
Leeds East Richard Burgon (L)
Leeds North East Fabian Hamilton (L)
Leeds North West Alex Sobel (L)
Leeds West Rachel Reeves (L)
Morley & Outwood Andrea Jenkyns (C)
Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford Yvette Cooper (L)
Penistone and Stocksbridge Miriam Cates ©
Pudsey Stuart Andrew ©
Rother Valley Alexander Stafford ©
Rotherham Sarah Champion (L)
Scarborough & Whitby Robert Goodwill ©
Scunthorpe Holly Mumby-Croft ©
Selby & Ainstey Nigel Adams ©
Sheffield Central Paul Blomfield (L)
Sheffield South East Clive Betts (L)
Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough Gill Furness (L)
Sheffield, Hallam Olivia Blake (L)
Sheffield, Heeley Louise Haigh (L)
Shipley Philip Davies (C)
Skipton & Ripon  Julian Smith ©
Thirsk & Malton Kevin Hollinrake ©
Wakefield Imran Ahmad-Khan ©
Wentworth and Dearne John Healey (L)
York Central Rachael Maskell (L)
York Outer Julian Sturdy ©